Using "Bookmark & Resume" in VR

Using "Bookmark & Resume" in VR

Our app provides a convenient bookmark and resume feature, allowing users to pick up where they left off. This ensures a seamless experience as users can resume training sessions without losing progress. 

To resume a module from where you left off, use your gaze (or controllers) to select the 3-dot menu next to the module title on the home screen. If you had previous started and left a module before finishing, the "Resume" option will appear in this menu. Select this option to re-start from where you left off.

Below are the conditions under which bookmarks are saved and cleared.

When Bookmark and Resume Works

  1. User Restarts the App
    Bookmarks are retained when a user restarts the app

    • Note for DOD customers: When the app contains DOD ID entry, bookmarks will be cleared automatically when the app restarts.

  2. User Presses "Main Menu"
    Progress is bookmarked when the user presses the "Main Menu" button, allowing them to return to the same point later.

When Bookmark and Resume is Cleared

  1. Inactivity Timer (2 minutes)
    If there is no activity for two minutes, the system will automatically clear any saved bookmarks.

  2. Starting a New Module
    When a new module is selected and played by pressing the play button in the module selection, any saved progress will be cleared.

  3. DOD ID Screen Trigger (For DOD customers)
    If DOD ID entry is triggered, progress will be cleared.

    • Note: This happens as soon as the screen is shown, even if the user doesn’t enter any information. This ensures that any progress made before triggering this screen is lost.

  4. Terminating Entity Reached
    Once a terminating entity  - the last screen of an experience - has been reached and the user moves past it (i.e., finishes the module), any bookmarks are cleared. In legacy experiences, the "Thank You" screen is the terminating entity.